City Departments

The City is comprised of fourteen (14) basic departments or functions:

  1. Executive (including City Council)
  2. Accounts, Records, and Payroll (City Clerk)
  3. Collector
  4. Public Works & Streets
  5. Building Inspections
  6. Parks and Recreation
  7. Police
  8. Fire
  9. Municipal Court
  10. Library
  11. Emergency Management
  12. Airport
  13. Tourism
  14. Hannibal Board of Public Works

Under a Home Rule Charter, the City of Hannibal uses a Council/Manager form of city government.  The Mayor is elected at-large for a 3-year term, and each of six (6) City Council Members are elected, one per each Ward, for staggered terms of 3-years.

Under the Council/Manager form of government, the elected Mayor and City Council set policy and overall direction for the City.  The City staff, under the direction of the City Manager, carries out Council decisions and provides day-to-day services.

The City’s organizational structure is very diverse, and is shown in the chart here: